EMAIL support@unlimited-space.com or CALL us on 1300 850 071

Domain Availability Search

Joomla configuration.php permissions issue

If you need assistance with any of our services, post your questions here

Joomla configuration.php permissions issue

Postby apolon on Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:27 am

I'm new to unlimited space/joomla and just got Joomla installed using Fantastico. It all installed fine, but the default installation doesn't provide write access to the configuration.php file which stopped me from making any Global Configuration changes. The short term solution was to change the permissions of the configuration.php file to be 0666. I'm uncomfortable with this as I would assume the Joomla application would be running as the user that owns the web site files.

Is there any way to change the configuration.php permissions back to 0644 and still have the ability to make Global Configuration changes?
apolon

Re: Joomla configuration.php permissions issue

Postby Lee G on Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:37 am

Hi apolon,

I don't think it's possible to have the permissions set to 644 and be able to edit the file through Joomla. However, you've got a couple of options.

1. You could set the permissions to 666 while you are setting everything up, then change it back to 644 once everything is working as you like it.

2. Edit the file on your computer, then upload it to the server through FTP or the File Manger in CPanel.

Hope that helps...

Cheers,

Lee
Lee Gaywood | Company Director | Unlimited-Space.com
Helping your business succeed online.
Web Hosting
Lee G
Site Admin

Postby apolon on Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:12 am